Scent of a woman or Phew! What was that???

Perfume, cologne, eau de toilette (yeah, that last one has always weirded me out) whatever you call that liquid which you spray, dab or sprinkle on yourself for fragrance sake.  It amazes me how many ways they can make it smell from being as sweet and soft as a rose to something that oozes sensual seduction.  Fragrances can make you smell like flowers, fruit, spices or anything else they come up with.  Musk is one I’ve never been fond of, it’s the name I suppose but I digress.

They begin to indoctrinate us early in childhood with wanting to smell like anything other than nice, clean and natural.  Oh I’m not saying it’s bad or anything of the sort, it’s just those marketing wizards hard at work.  I wish I could remember the name of that tiny perfume that came with the toy makeup set, you know, the one that looked like a little bottle of roll on deodorant and made you smell like candy but as I was trying to Google the name I found this:

https://i0.wp.com/www.childmode.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/06/Screen-shot-2010-06-01-at-10.27.10-AM.png

Really? Baby cologne? A 6.8 oz for almost five dollars baby cologne available from Amazon? Why, isn’t the smell of the baby soap and lotion good enough?  When you start to wear perfume that you didn’t steal from your mother or big sister, then you have become a young lady or at least that’s the way I recall it.  Today there are so many brands and fragrances out there it can make your head spin literally and figuratively depending on the aroma and price tag (if you want to know how high they can go check out this list from 2015.)  Because I have allergies and have to use unscented almost everything, there are very few brands I wear and when I do, I dab it on oh so lightly.  I want him to come in close for a whiff – wink!

In my evolution of wearing fragrances I’ve tried Opium (the perfume not the you know what), Donna Karan Cashmere Mist, Bulgari Rose Essentielle, Love in White by Creed, Jo Malone’s Orange Blossom and the classic Chanel no 5.  Mainly now I wear the Bulgari when I want to be sexy and the Jo Malone when I want to wear a light clean scent; I really do love her fragrances and candles by the way.

           

Whatever your fragrance is it should represent you and more importantly be taken in by you and anyone that may be face to face with you.  It should be “Oh that smells nice what is it?” or “Hey baby, you smell yum tonight!” not “Who the hell is wearing that strong stuff!”  Oh come on now you’ve experienced it don’t try to act like you don’t know what I’m talking about.  The person who is wearing so much perfume you can still smell them after they’ve walked around the corner.  The fragrance that is so strong when you innocently walk into it you really walk INTO it!  The one that is so laden with perfume at the next table that you cannot enjoy your meal at a restaurant because your olfactory nerves are being attacked like a barbarian horde storming a castle.  This has happened to me; ruined a perfectly good lasagna dinner too.  If you want to put yourself in a Ziploc bag, pour the perfume on, seal it up and then marinate in it for a couple of hours before sharing with the world that is your business but please, it’s alright to keep your distance from me, I won’t be offended.  Sometimes sharing isn’t all that caring but I suppose it beats some au naturale bouquets.  My opinion, your mileage may vary.

Perfume is a personal thing and I think it should be just that.  It should evoke pleasant thoughts and memories.  So tell me, what are your go to fragrances… I’m listening.

 

Until next time ♥

10 comments

Leave a Reply

