Interview with designer Rebecca Minkoff

On November 7th,  Saks at the Polaris Fashion Mall in Columbus, Ohio welcomed accessible luxury designer Rebecca Minkoff to town.  She brought with her many of her new handbag and accessory designs as well as some fun and fashionable ready to wear items.  Saks threw quite the party that night with all sorts of fun entertainment and food like chocolate MAB handbags for desert and a nail and smoky eye-bar to name just a few of the happenings that were going on.  Read about those festivities here.

But besides purchasing a new bag from her line, most of  her fans that night were there to have their handbags autographed and to have their picture taken with her.  It was a great night for all but I had some burning questions I wanted to ask her along with some that came from you, my readers.  So what did I learn from the lovely, charming, and left handed Sagittarius (I’m assuming she is a Sagittarius as she had that on one of her necklaces) with the beautiful smile?

We talked about many things:  being a mom, her travels, pizza  and yes, fashion!

How long does it take for you to get a product from concept to realization?

The entire process takes about a year from start to being delivered to the customer.  As a matter of fact we just put the finishing touches on our Fall 2013 line.  Even when we get it close to being completed there are still tweaks that we do to a product before it is finally completed but yes, it takes about a year.

Do you prefer to sketch out your designs or to actually hands on construct it first?

I can’t sketch anything anymore because it would take up entirely too much of my time.  I miss doing that but I would be busy doing that for entirely too long.  We have hired someone who does all of our designing on the computer with my putting in input of how I’d like things to be with her doing the modifications until it’s to the point of being ready to be made.

How much of your business would you say is handbags versus apparel?

Right now I would say my business is 80% bags and 20% ready to wear.  It is hard in the industry for handbag people to go from bags to apparel but that is where I started out – in apparel – and I want to get back into it at a larger level; make it a bigger portion of my line.

What inspired you to put the sayings on your pouches?

At first it was just a couple of us just talking to each other coming up with the ideas.  When we started to run out of new sayings we canvassed everyone in our office until they ran out of ideas.  Now we run “Name our latest Pouch” contests for ideas.

What is the meaning behind the “Morning after Bag” name?

At the time of the bags creation, every bag designer was giving their bag a girl’s name and I didn’t want to do that so I thought about the bag itself and how it might be used.  At the time I wasn’t married so my thoughts were along the lines of someone who might go out with the bag and be gone from day to a long night and possibly need to pack some extra things into the bag to carry them over for the ‘morning after’.

Thank you, Rebecca.  I had a grand time meeting and hanging out with you.

6 comments

Leave a Reply

